Vamos Comer a Puerto Rico

Fort in Old San Juan

This summer I took my son to visit Puerto Rico.  It was my first experience in a Spanish-language culture and even though it’s technically the United States, it’s got a different vibe.  

I broke my son out of the resort we were staying in on our third day on the island and took him to visit two of the castles/forts that can be found in San Juan.  

We also walked around “viejo” San Juan and looked for what I called “street food” but that just alarmed my son who thought that meant we would be eating in the middle of the busy roads.  

We did enjoy a nice meal out that included plantains, one of my favorite foods as a Peace Corps Volunteer in West Africa.  It’s always interesting to find these little food connections across cultures.

Leave a comment

Filed under Caribbean, Eat

Leave a Reply

