Smarter Kids

Think about it.  While we’re working so hard to give our children the best education possible, are we actually painting ourselves into a corner?  That’s the throught that sprang to mind when I read this USA Today article about foreign language programs for kids.  Although it was originally published in 2007, it’s still relevant  today. 

Just take this quote, for example:  “I’m smarter than my father. He can only speak one language.”

I think we can all agree that this would be a great problem to have.  So far, I have been unable to interest my son in learning either French (which his father and I speak) or Spanish (which I studied in school and is the kid “cool” language of Sesame Street, Dora, and Diego).  I’m still working on piquing his interest but I’m confident that once I get him there, the rewards of raising “smarter” kids will be clear.

Leave a comment

Filed under Europe, Latin America, Learn, Listen

Leave a Reply

