Happy Anniversary to the House on Mango Street

51Z5oIVULHL._SL500_AA240_Twenty-five years ago, Sandra Cisneros published The House on Mango Street, a collection of vignettes chronicling her childhood growing up Mexican-American in Chicago.  NPR did a great retrospective on what the book meant at the time and what it means today.  

I had never read the book before so I was inspired by the NPR show to pick it up at the library.  It was the kind of book I wished I’d read when I was younger; it resonated with me at 34 but I knew it would have been even more powerful if I had discovered it when I was about 12 years old.  But if you’re older than 12, don’t let this discourage you.  Read it – and recommend it – to others!

Leave a comment

Filed under Latin America, Read

Leave a Reply

