Tripping on Travel Envy

So here’s the downside to social networking sites like Facebook:  I have come to the unpleasant realization that many of my friends are living more interesting, adventurous lives than I am. 

images-2Take the friend who updates regularly from Dakar, Senegal.  She and her husband both served as Peace Corps Volunteers with me in Burkina Faso in the late 1990s.  Today, he’s working for the Foreign Service and she is raising their two young children in a bourgainvillea-covered home.  

Then there’s my  college roommate who is leaving in a month for a job in Bogota, Columbia.

Another Peace Corps friend now works for the World Health Organization and is frequently updating her profile to announce her latest trips to Mali and Switzerland.

There’s even an old boyfriend announcing his plans to move to China for a year.

I’m Shrek-green with envy.  

Even though my job and my family keep me pretty firmly tethered to exotic New Jersey, a girl can still dream.  I’m already plotting trips to Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, and China.  After all, I may not be able to live overseas for the time being, but a girl can still dream – and research – for the future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America

Leave a Reply

