Tackling Tough Topics

On November 9 and 10, 1938, Kristallnacht, or the “night of broken glass” tore through Jewish communities in Germany and Austria.  It is viewed by many historians as the beginning of the Holocaust.

imagesAs parents, how do we begin to educate our children about tough topics like the Holocaust?  When is it appropriate to talk to children about other man-made tragedies such as slavery, oppression, and genocide?  How does your cultural background inform when and how you discuss these issues with your child?

These are questions that I am struggling with in raising my child.  There are some things I would prefer he hear from me, at a time and in a way that I can control.  At the same time, I’m not a child development expert.  Like doctors, I feel compelled to “first, do no harm.”

Are these issues that you are facing as parents?  If so, how are you handling them?

Leave a comment

Filed under Europe, Learn

Leave a Reply

