Falafel Hour

Thanks to the nasty weather, I’ve been doing even more reading and cooking than usual. I was inspired by a magazine article on baked falafels and decided to try it out. I made some adjustments, and here it is: the world’s greatest baked falafel.

Okay, that’s a gross exaggeration, but you’ve got to understand my pride. I grew up in a strict meat-and-potatoes house in southern New Jersey. I never had a bagel, tasted sushi, or ordered Chinese food regularly until I went to college. So every little culinary victory fills me with inordinate pride.

At any rate, try the falafels – they’re top-shelf. The one thing I regret is that I have not yet been able to come up with the right yogurt dip to pair them with. I’m open to suggestions (hint, hint)!

World’s Best Baked Falafels

Ingredients

1 15-oz can chickpeas (drained and rinsed)

1/4 c. shredded carrots

1/2 tsp. sesame oil

2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour

2 Tbsp. water

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1 Tbsp. olive oil

Directions

Preheat oven to 450.  Lightly grease a cookie tray with olive oil.  Rinse and drain chickpeas and add carrot, flour, sesame oil, salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, and water and mash with a potato masher or food processor.  There can be some chunks of chickpeas.

Shape mixture into small rounds, about 1 tsp. each.  Slightly flatten and place on the greased cookie sheet.  Makes 15 rounds.  Brush each round lightly with olive oil and bake for 5-7 minutes on each side.  Drain on a paper towel, if desired.

You can eat the falafels on their own, with a tahini dressing, in a pita with cucumbers, lettuce, and tomato, or with a side of French Fries for a really global meal!

2 Comments

Filed under Africa, Eat, Middle East

2 responses to “Falafel Hour

  1. These sound delicious! And, you have lots of great thoughts and ideas here. I’m enjoying your blog!

  2. Never had tried making my own falafels yet but now I guess I will and will use this recipe.

Leave a Reply

