Desperately Seeking Nuoc Cham

There’s nothing like shopping somewhere new to inspire you with fresh ideas. Recently, I took my son to an Asian supermarket near our house. I’ve been eager to try a Filipino spring roll recipe that a friend of mine had given me but I couldn’t find everything I needed in my usual grocery store.

Not only did we get what we needed but we had a great time checking out interesting new produce, fascinating bottles of condiments, the fresh fish on ice, and an awesome aisle full of cookies and candies.  For once, I didn’t have to fend off my son’s requests for goodies:  he didn’t know what anything was!

We ended up with $50 worth of groceries (including a double-decker bamboo steamer I’d been dying to have; a sushi mat to roll our own sushi; thin sheets of seaweed for sushi; spring roll wrappers; dumpling “skins”; and fresh lemongrass, ginger, chiles, shitake mushrooms, and bamboo shoots).  Now all I have to do is find the time to cook it all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

