You’ve Got to Hand it to Those Girl Scouts

There must be a badge for “relentlessness” in Girl Scouts. I wouldn’t know; I quit right after Brownies.

But one thing I do know: those Girl Scouts have an eye for weakness.

This year – for the first time since elementary school – I successfully managed to evade the Girl Scouts. I hadn’t touched a single cookie since The Test of Willpower, also known as Girl Scout Cookie Season, began.

But they finally caught up with me when I was at my weakest: the grocery store on a Friday night, nearing 10 p.m.

Sometimes my trips to the grocery store resemble that cable-TV show “Supermarket Sweet Sweep” where contestants would hurl themselves around the grocery store grabbing as much stuff as they could as quickly as they could.

The savvy contestants would load up in the meat section or the baby formula and diaper aisle.

I don’t really need much in either aisle, so my trips mostly just resemble the frenetic pace of a game show contestant’s – determined to fulfill my mission before the buzzer sounds, or the grocery store closes.

I usually end up a little bit sweaty, grouchy, and only mildly victorious. I always have the sense that I’ve somehow made a spectacle of myself (see above – sweaty, grouchy, mildly victorious people would certainly stick out in my grocery store).

This is when the Girl Scouts smelled weakness. They planted a tub of Edy’s ice cream with Tagalongs, only the BEST Girl Scout cookies, right in my line of vision.

I didn’t realize that I had even made this impulse buy until I was unpacking my groceries later that evening.

You win this time, Girl Scouts, but I know there will be a re-match when Girl Scout Cookie Season Part II launches in the fall.

3 Comments

Filed under Eat

3 responses to “You’ve Got to Hand it to Those Girl Scouts

  1. kathryncoulibaly

    If you’re interested in even more glamour shots of Edy’s Girl Scout ice cream flavors, check out Serious Eats here: http://www.seriouseats.com/2010/03/dreyers-edys-limited-edition-girl-scout-cookies-ice-cream-flavors.html

  2. Jen

    OH NO!! Of course they used my 3 favorites! Must stay out of grocery store!

  3. LOL! You had girl scout ice cream on the brain and said “supermarket sweet”, it is supermarket sweep. Too much sugar. By the way, I still have cases of thin mints left if anyone wants a case, they are on sale for $40 a case, plus shipping, that is 12 boxes, one for each month of the year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

