The Secret of Tandoori Chicken

Overwhelmingly, I was informed that as much as people liked the Tandoori Chicken piece I wrote the other day, I fell short by not including a recipe.

Well, here’s the secret:  I made it from a box!

You heard right.  While dashing around the grocery store with no list and an empty stomach, I broke the cardinal rule of budget-conscious home chefs. I impulse-shopped! (By the way, doesn’t Gourmantra sound like a delicious island?)

Fortunately, it turned out well for me. I enjoyed the meal, got to try something new, and even got to brag about it to my friends.

But true to the old verse, “Pride goeth before a fall” I know I have to confess that I used the ultimate shortcut and lose what little kitchen credibility I’ve been building.

Still who knows? It may be that sometimes you have to cut some corners in order to accomplish the real goal of introducing new tastes, ideas, people, stories, cultures, music, and languages to yourself – and your family.

If a box mix helps us make that happen from time to time, I’m OK with that. But if you’re not, here are some links to “real” Tandoori Chicken recipes.

Food NetworkEmeril Lagasse’s Tandoori Chicken

Allrecipes.comIndian Tandoori Chicken (I agree with one of the posters, don’t bother adding the artificial dyes)

Cooking Light Tandoori Chicken

Better Homes and GardensTandoori Chicken

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

