Can You Feed a Kid Caviar?

Well, the truth is you can; but ask yourself: should you?

If you’re an inquiring eater (like myself), there are a few mythical (or near-mythical) foods that just sound interesting but somehow out of reach. For a long time I thought caviar was one of those foods that you only saw at fancy parties on television.

It turns out you can find it next to the tuna fish at your local grocery store!

But what does the average person who doesn’t eat like Thurston Howell do with it?

The answer is as easy as Easter/Passover leftovers!

Traditionally, caviar can be eaten with both deviled eggs and latkes. Having recently made both of these foods, I decided to do a food experiment.

First, I tried the caviar on a white potato and onion latke with a dollop of sour cream.

This was good.

Then I tried the caviar on a deviled egg. The egg yolks had been smashed with mayonnaise, sour cream, lemon juice, and salt.

This was also good.

However, it quickly became apparent that I lacked the “hunger” to continue to compare the two. After the second round, I was slightly over my fascination with caviar and regretting that I hadn’t invited over an eating crew! So you’ll have to try both ideas and tell me what you think.

For the record, I couldn’t get my kid to eat caviar. And I’m OK with that.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Can You Feed a Kid Caviar?

  1. Pingback: Global Recipes for Easter Eggs | Kid Culture

Leave a Reply

