I Double Dog Dare You

I can get a little kid to try almost any food without resorting to bribery or dares.

Tofu? Devoured it.

Sushi? Slurped it up.

Channa Masala? It’s our new Hakuna Matata.

I’ve gotten little kids – ages 3 to 6 – to try all of these things. If I’ve learned one thing from my experiences overseas it’s this: if you’re hungry enough, you’ll try anything.

Now before you imagine that I have cruelly deprived my child or other children from food in order to get them to try new things, you’re mistaken. I’m the first person to yell, “Let’s make popcorn,” when I babysit for friends’ or relatives’ children.

But on rare occasions, I also manage to convince these little kids to snap out of their chicken nugget ruts and try something new.

Of course, it may have had something to do with the presentation of the food!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Double Dog Dare You

  1. I LOVE that you save the kids’ plates from Disney too. Why not get your money’s worth. They even go in the dishwasher!

Leave a Reply

