If You Put It On the Bookshelf . . .

Eventually, they will read it.

Tonight, my son chose – of his own volition, I swear – a French book a friend bought for him when he was born.

It only took him 6 years to find it and pull it off the shelf and demand that I read it – first in French and then roughly translated into English.

So I guess what I’ve learned is that it’s okay to passively introduce some things to a child and trust that he or she will reach out for them when they’re ready.

And it also helps that I forgot about the book or else I probably would have suggested it as often as Quiero a Mi Mama Porque . . . and our Spanish-language selection of Dora and Diego books, thereby rendering it the equivalent of kid kryptonite.

Live and learn.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

