Thank a Teacher!

From Albania to Vietnam, most countries set aside a special day to thank teachers for all they do. Today, May 4th, is National Teacher Day in the United States.

As a student, I had so many wonderful teachers, from kindergarten through high school. They gave me everything I needed to go to college, study abroad, and even teach for a few years in Burkina Faso.

But now – as a parent – I’m enjoying getting to know my son’s teachers and seeing a side of the profession that I could not see when I was sitting in a little desk about 30 years ago.

In pre-K, kindergarten, and first grade, my son has had very different teachers with incredibly different approaches to education. Each has been a wonderful partner for me in making the most of my son’s education. From each, I have gotten the encouragement, advice, and support I’ve needed to keep my son on a solid path to learning at home while his teachers pursue it at school.

Some of his teachers have been educators longer than I’ve been alive. Some are only in their second or third year. But each of them has been unfailingly committed to helping me and my son.

And for that, I have no words other than THANK YOU!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

