So Tell Me About Peaches

Last night in the grocery store I was half-listening to the TV they had set up at the checkout. I was rushing to arrange everything on the belt just the way my mother had taught me (cold stuff together, heavy stuff together, chemicals for cleaning together, etc.) when I heard the fascinating fact that peaches originated in China.

As a devotee of New Jersey’s peach crop (it was the only food I can recall missing when I lived in Burkina Faso for two years), this was news to me. But it’s true (IĀ confirmed it on Wikipedia).

The peach fact reminded me of a new show I caught on the Cooking Channel called Food(ography) hosted by Mo Rocca. I will say it here and now: I love Mo Rocca. And I love him even more after watching this show in which he talks about food in the context of culture.

The episode I caught was called “Noodlerama” and it talked about pasta and how different cultures have adapted it. The show airs Sundays at 9 p.m. and the only criticism I have of it – and this is minor and probably part of the charm of the show – is that I have a hard time believing Mo Rocca. Something in his sardonic delivery just makes me wonder if he’s making the whole thing up.

But if you – like me – enjoy getting a history lesson along with a tour of food and culture delivered in a way that will make you laugh out loud, then this might be the show for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

