Kneidlach

KneidlachAlso known as matzoh ball soup, kneidlach became an obsession of mine about a year ago when I fixated on a soup I had eaten a long time ago.

Now this soup is in permanent rotation at my house.

I enjoy asking people who grew up with it questions to fine-tune my recipe.

Keep the carrots, celery and/or onion in the broth when you serve it?

Just use them as a flavoring and then discard them?

Buy matzoh mix and take it easy on yourself?

Make the matzoh balls from scratch?

Matzoh balls the size of a golfball or a tennis ball?

As you can see, I doubt I will ever get tired of this soup.

Kneidlach (Matzoh Ball Soup)

For matzoh balls, you can make them from scratch but I used a matzoh ball mix to which you still need to add eggs and oil.

Follow the box’s instructions to make and cook the matzoh balls. Set aside and make the broth (below).

2- 32 oz. containers of chicken broth

¼ c. shredded carrots

¼ c. diced onions

½ c. diced celery

2 cloves garlic, diced fine

Salt

Pepper

Parsley

Bring ingredients to a slow boil.  Add matzoh balls, heat through and serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eat, Learn

Leave a Reply

