Learn About Mexico on Cinco de Mayo

Children celebrate cinco de mayoCinco de Mayo is a fantastic opportunity to go beyond the pinatas, maracas, and quesadillas to help children understand – and respect – Mexican culture.

KidCulture has already explained what Cinco de Mayo is really all about here, so let’s concentrate on what we don’t know about one of America’s closest neighbors.

For example, did you know that Mexico is the 15th largest country in the world? You would think that would earn them some bragging rights!

And although Mexico is a large country, most people prefer to live in cities. Mexico’s largest cities include Mexico City, Guadalajara, Monterrey, Puebla, and Juarez.

The name, “Mexico,” comes from the Nahuatl language. Although the exact meaning is not clear, it is believed to mean “the place where the God of War lives” or “the place at the center of the moon.”

Mexico has a relatively young population. Nearly one-third of its people are 14 years or younger.

While most people speak Spanish (more than 97 percent), indigenous languages such as Mayan, Nahuatl, and other regional languages are also spoken. In fact, more than one percent of the population does not speak Spanish at all.

While 86 percent of the population can read and write, on average people only receive about 14 years of education. However, Mexico has a strong tradition of education. The Aztecs are the first recorded civilization to mandate universal education for everyone.

Mexico has become a popular tourist destination in part because of its position between the Gulf of Mexico and the Pacific Ocean. Yet Mexico also has deserts such as the Sonoran where temperatures can reach as high as 122 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mexico is also home to one of the most diverse animal populations in the world, particularly among reptiles. More than 700 reptile species can be found in Mexico.

It is believed that indigenous people in Mexico first domesticated corn, enabling them to better control their access to food. This, in turn, transformed the society and firmly established Mexican food among world cuisines. Amazon.com lists more than 700 different Mexican cookbooks.

Corn, or maize, continues to be a staple of Mexican cuisine. From tamales to tortillas, corn is essential.

Mexican food is extremely well-known – and beloved. To celebrate Cinco de Mayo, you might consider trying some new Mexican recipes with your family. Here are some suggestions:

In addition, there are several excellent Mexican cookbooks for children. Check out The Young Chef’s Mexican Cookbook by Karen Ward as a start.

Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

26 Comments

Filed under Eat, Holiday, Latin America, Learn

26 responses to “Learn About Mexico on Cinco de Mayo

  1. chloe parkinson

    Hi at our school we are studying Mexico and I was wandering if you could send us as much infomation as possible thank you xx

  2. kaytie jane hastings

    hello im Kaytie and I’m doing a topic at school and its Mexico and i would like to find out as much as i can about Mexico. So if you have any intresting and usfull infomation please will you sent it to my email account.
    thankyou
    Kaytie Hastings.

  3. Ella Richards

    Hi I’m Ella.I’m in year 4/5 and we are doing a topic on Mexico.I was wandering if you could send me as much infomation on Mexico as possible.
    Thankyou very much from Ellaxxx

  4. lucy evans

    Hi my name is Lucy. I’m in year 4. We are doing a topic on Mexico. Please can you help all you can. Thank you. Yoursfaily Lucy.

  5. amie and eddi

    Hi my name is calld Amie and my potner is calld Eddie we are doing about Mexico. We need some infmrmashon about Mexico.
    thank you

  6. Sophie Cameron and Kian Green

    Hi we’re Sophie and Kian .We are in year 4/5 and we are doing a topic on Mexico.
    I wonder if you could send me some info on Mexico.
    Thank you
    🙂

  7. joshua

    Hey I’m Josh me and my freinds are doing a topic on mexico and we urgantly need some info . Would it be possible if you could send us some info .
    Joshua

  8. Megan Johnson and Livvy Tyrer

    Hi we’re Megan and Livvy and we are in year 5 , we are learning about Mexico.Please can you give us some information about Mexico. Thank you very much.

  9. katie billsborough

    Hi I amKatie
    I am in year 4\5 and we are doing a topic on Mexico.
    I am worndering if you could send me some info on Mexico.
    Thank you :] ;p :b

  10. Ciara Foy

    Hiya my name is Ciara im in year 4 my topic at school is mexico.I want
    to find lots of information about mexico.So please will you send me some intresting facts about mexico.to my email account.
    thank you
    from ciara foy.

  11. Will

    I got topic about Mexico and i need some facts can yo help me . thank you
    Will

  12. connor

    Hi I’m Connor my class and I are doing a topic on Mexico. We despretly need some info.Please can send us some info if possible. 🙂

  13. Kai

    Hi my name is Kai if posible please my you send me some information about mexico. I’m doing a topic at school . 🙂

  14. Liam pantlin

    Hi our name is Liam and Lee we thought that you could give us s ome facts about Mexico like Mexico food and about the city

  15. Ellis

    Hi my name is Ellis I was wondering if you could send me some interesting info thank you Ellis bye.

  16. Jack

    Hi my name is Jack and my class is working on Mexico. Please could give me some good informion about Mexico.Thank you. 🙂

  17. Jack Tucker

    Hi im Jack Tucker i’m in year 4 and my topic is to find out about mexico please reply back about intersting facts about mexico

  18. connor

    Hi I’m Connor my class and I are doing a topic on Mexico. .Please can send us information.

  19. Amber O;Neill and Chloe Timmers

    Hey we’re Chloe Timmers and Amber O’Neill from Lea Endowed and we are learning about Mexico and we are both in year 5.Please may you send back some interesting facts about Mexico?Thank you so much.

  20. Kathryn Coulibaly

    Thank you all for visiting the site today. I’m so excited that you are studying Mexico. It’s a beautiful country with a long history. Here are some resources that I used to write about Mexico and some others that I hope will be useful to you as you work on your project.

    CIA World Factbook – Mexico
    https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/mx.html

    US Department of State – Mexico
    http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/35749.htm

    History.com – Mexico
    http://www.history.com/topics/mexico

    About.com – Mexican food
    http://mexicanfood.about.com/

    Amazon.com – Books for kids about Mexico
    http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&keywords=Mexico&rh=n%3A4%2Ck%3AMexico&page=1

    Wikipedia.com – Mexico
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mexico

    Best of luck with your school project!

    Kathy
    http://www.KidCulture.wordpress.com

  21. connor

    I am a big fan

  22. Thomas

    Hi I am Thomas please can you give me some intresting facts about mexico

  23. Kai

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

